Board of Directors

In 2019, South Sound 911 began transitioning from an interlocal administrative agency to a Public Development Authority (PDA) in accordance with RCW 35.21.730-755. During the transition, South Sound 911 will report to the new Board of Directors, and the outgoing Policy Board and Operations Board.

After the transition, South Sound 911 will be governed solely by an 11-member Board of Directors to which the South Sound 911 executive director reports. All local government agencies contracting for the agency’s services are represented on the board, either directly or indirectly. A separate Public Safety Communications Operations Committee of police and fire chiefs will advise the Board of Directors and Executive Director on any matters related to South Sound 911 operations.

Board members are elected officials with representation that is reflective of the agency’s customer base. Seats on the board are allocated among South Sound 911’s member agencies based on the relative size of the most recently approved annual Communications Assessments payable by member agencies. Terms are three (years) and there are no term limits.


The Board of Directors meet monthly. Public comment is allowed at the start of every meeting.

    • 9 a.m.
    • Fourth Wednesday of every month
    • Lakewood City Hall; 6000 Main St. SW; Lakewood, WA 98499


Agendas & Minutes

Approved resolutions and motions may be found in the Archive Center.


Doug Richardson, chair
Pierce County Council 
930 Tacoma Ave. S., Rm. 1046 
Tacoma, WA 98402 
Ph: 253-798-3308 

Bill Pugh, vice-chair
City of Sumner Mayor 
1104 Maple St., Ste. 250 
Sumner, WA 98390
Ph: 253-299-5500

Michael Brandstetter
City of Lakewood Council
6000 Main St. SW.
Lakewood, WA 98499
Ph: 253-589-2489

Tim Curtis
City of Fife Councilmember 
5411 23rd St. E. 
Fife, WA 98424 
Ph: 253-896-8602 

Bruce Dammeier
Pierce County Executive
930 Tacoma Ave. S., Rm. 737
Tacoma, WA 98402
Ph: 253-798-7477

Julie Door
City of Puyallup Councilmember
333 S. Meridian
Puyallup, WA 98371

Matt Holm
Central Pierce Fire & Rescue Commissioner
17520 22nd Ave. E.
Tacoma, WA 98445

Lillian Hunter
City of Tacoma Councilmember
747 Market St., Ste. 1200
Tacoma, WA 98402
Ph: 253-591-5470

Patt McElligott
East Pierce Fire & Rescue Commissioner
18421 Veterans Memorial Drive
Bonney Lake, WA 98391

Dan Rankin
West Pierce Fire & Rescue Commissioner
3631 Drexler Dr. W.
University Place, WA 98466

Robert Thoms
City of Tacoma Councilmember
747 Market St., Ste. 1200
Tacoma, WA 98402
Ph: 253-594-7848